Critical Care Medicine

This Guide provides access to biomedical, interdisciplinary, and clinical trial databases; drug and pharmaceutical resources; e-books; professional societies; and patient education resources of special interest to the NIH Critical Care Medicine Department.  

Biomedical Databases

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is the leading resource for systematic reviews in healthcare. The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. 

EMBASE

EMBASE is a comprehensive database of biomedical literature. This database comprises over 32 million abstracts from published, peer reviewed biomedical literature, in-press publications, and conferences.

Medscape Critical Care

Medscape Critical Care offers the latest medical news and expert perspectives; essential point-of-care drug and disease information; and relevant professional education and CME.

PubMed

PubMed is a comprehensive database of biomedical literature. This database comprises more than 28 million citations from published, peer reviewed biomedical literature and in-press publications including MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.  

UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence based, physician authored clinical decision support resource; the content includes 10,500 topic reviews within 24 subspecialty areas.

  

Interdisciplinary Databases

Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature indexing scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. This database delivers a comprehensive overview of worldwide research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities; features smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.

Web of Science

Web of Science is an abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature indexing scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. This database delivers a comprehensive overview of worldwide research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities; features smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research; includes Journal Citation Reports.

 

Clinical Trial Databases

CenterWatch

CenterWatch is the largest online database of industry-sponsored global clinical trials actively seeking study volunteers.

ClinicalTrials.gov

Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical trials and observational studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions.

EU Clinical Trials Register

EU Clinical Trials Register provides access to protocol and results information on interventional clinical trials conducted in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA) as well as clinical trials conducted outside the EU / EEA that are linked to European pediatric medicine development. 

ISRCTN Registry

ISRCTN Registry is the primary clinical trial registry recognized by WHO and ICMJE. This database accepts all clinical research studies including proposed, ongoing, and completed. ISRCTN Registry provides content validation and curation as well as the unique identification number necessary for publication.

OpenTrials

OpenTrials is a collaboration between Open Knowledge International and the University of Oxford EBM DataLab. This database contains all available information on every trial ever conducted.

 

Drug and Pharmaceutical Resources

Access Medicine Drug Monographs 

DailyMed

Drug Information Portal

Drugs@FDA

NIH Clinical Center Formulary and Lexicomp Online

IBM Micromedex

UpToDate Drug Interactions

 

eBooks

Abdominal Sepsis (2018)

Annual Update in Intensive Care and Emergency Medicine (2017)

Antibiotic Pharmacokinetic/Pharmacodynamic Considerations in the Critically Ill (2018)

Clinical Ultrasound: A pocket manual (2018)

Critical Care (2017)

Critical Care Management for Laboratory Mice and Rats (2013)

Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment (2018)

Evidence Based Critical Care (2017)

Goodman and Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13e (2018)

Handbook of Critical and Intensive Care Medicine, 3e (2016)

Handbook of Sepsis (2018)

Harrison’s Manual of Medicine, 19e (2016)

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20e (2018)

Hurst’s The Heart, 14e (2017)

Interventional Critical Care (2016)

MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology, 3e (2016)

Mechanical Ventilation in the Critically Ill Obese Patient (2018)

Mechanical Ventilation in Critically Ill Cancer Patients (2018)

Metabolic Disorders and Critically Ill Patients (2018)

Monitoring Tissue Perfusion in Shock (2018)

Noninvasive Mechanical Ventilation and Difficult Weaning in Critical Care (2016)

Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, 2e (2017)

Principles and Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e (2013)

Principles of Adult Surgical Critical Care (2016)

Principles of Critical Care, 4e (2015)

Seizures in Critical Care (2017)

Sepsis Definitions, Pathophysiology and the Challenge of Bedside Management (2017)

Surgical Intensive Care Medicine, 3e (2016)

Topical Issues in Anesthesia and Intensive Care (2016)

Ultrasound Program Management: A comprehensive resource for administering point-of-care, emergency, and clinical ultrasound

Additional titles licensed by the NIH Library are available at AccessMedicine and Online Journals, Books and more

 

Professional Societies

American Association of Critical Care Nurses

American College of Cardiology

American Thoracic Society

Infectious Diseases Society of America

Society of Critical Care Medicine

 

Patient Education Resources

HealthReach: Health Information in Many Languages

MedlinePlus

IBM Micromedex CareNotes

Research Patient Education Resources

UpToDate Patient Education

 

See also Research Instruments

 

NIH Library Service: 
NIH Subject: 

Last modified date: Mon, 04/26/2021 - 2:41pm