Oncology

This Guide provides access to biomedical, interdisciplinary, and clinical trial databases; drug and pharmaceutical resources; e-books; professional societies; and patient education resources of special interest to NIH oncologists. 

To request assistance with a current or upcoming project in support of research or patient care, please submit your request to NIH Library Services. We provide a variety of research and information management services including comprehensive literature searches in support of guideline development, systematic reviews, and meta-analyses; instruction on the use of EndNote; editing and manuscript preparation; and web page development. We meet with clients for consultations and provide instruction on these and related topics.

The NIH Library also provides specialist services in the fields of bioinformatics, bibliometrics (Chris Belter), and data management (Doug Joubert).

 

Biomedical Databases

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is the leading resource for systematic reviews in healthcare. The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. 

EMBASE

EMBASE is a comprehensive database of biomedical literature. This database comprises over 32 million abstracts from published, peer reviewed biomedical literature, in-press publications, and conferences.

Medscape Oncology

Medscape offers the latest medical news and expert perspectives; essential point-of-care drug and disease information; and relevant professional education and CME.

PubMed

PubMed is a comprehensive database of biomedical literature. This database comprises more than 28 million citations from published, peer reviewed biomedical literature and in-press publications including MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.  

UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence based, physician authored clinical decision support resource; the content includes 10,500 topic reviews within 24 subspecialty areas.

  

Interdisciplinary Databases

Scopus

Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature indexing scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. This database delivers a comprehensive overview of worldwide research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities and features smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.

Web of Science

Web of Science is a large abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature indexing scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. This database delivers a comprehensive overview of worldwide research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities and features smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.

 

Clinical Trial Databases

CenterWatch

CenterWatch is the largest online database of industry-sponsored global clinical trials actively seeking study volunteers.

ClinicalTrials.gov

Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical trials and observational studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions.

EU Clinical Trials Register

The European Union Clinical Trials Register provides access to protocol and results information on interventional clinical trials conducted in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA) as well as clinical trials conducted outside the EU / EEA that are linked to European pediatric medicine development. 

ISRCTN Registry

The ISRCTN Registry is a primary clinical trial registry recognized by WHO and ICMJE. This database accepts all clinical research studies including proposed, ongoing, and completed. The ISRCTN Registry also provides content validation and curation as well as the unique identification number necessary for publication.

OpenTrials

OpenTrials is a collaboration between Open Knowledge International and the University of OxfordEBM  DataLab. OpenTrials is a database containing all available information on every trial ever conducted.

 

Drug and Pharmaceutical Resources

Access Medicine Drug Monographs 

DailyMed

Drug Information Portal

Drugs@FDA

NIH Clinical Center Formulary and Lexicomp Online

IBM Micromedex

Pillbox Drug Identifier

UpToDate Drug Interactions

 

eBooks

American Cancer Society's Oncology in Practice: Clinical Management

American Cancer Society's Principles of Oncology: Prevention to Survivorship

Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention (2018)

Cancer Prevention and Screening: Concepts, Principles and Controversies (2018)

Clinical Immunology: Principles and Practice (2019)

Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment (2018)

Devita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology (updated quarterly)

Goodman and Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13e (2018)

Harrison’s Manual of Medicine, 19e (2016)

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20e (2018)

Immunotherapy (2017)

Immunotherapy for Gastrointestinal Cancer (2017)

Immunotherapy in Translational Cancer Research (2018)

Immunotherapy of Cancer: An Innovative Treatment Comes of Age (2016)

Immunotherapy of Melanoma (2016)

Introduction to Cancer Metastasis (2017)

Lichtman's Atlas of Hematology (2017)

The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology, 3e (2016)

Molecular Approach to Cancer Management (2017)

Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, 2e (2017)

Precision Medicine: A Guide to Genomics in Clinical Practice (2017)

Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, 2e (2017)

Progress in Cancer Immunotherapy (2016)

Williams Hematology, 9e (2016)

Additional titles licensed by the NIH Library are available at AccessMedicine and Online Journals, Books and more

 

Professional Societies

American Association for Cancer Research

American Society for Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics

American Society for Radiology and Oncology

American Society of Clinical Oncology

International Agency for Research on Cancer

NCI Research Tools, Specimens, and Data

Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer

Society of Gynecologic Oncology

Society of Surgical Oncology

 

Patient Education Resources

American Cancer Society

Cancer.gov

Cancer.Net

HealthReach: Health Information in Many Languages

MedlinePlus

IBM Micromedex CareNotes

Oncolink

Research Patient Education Resources

UpToDate Patient Education

 

See also Research Instruments

NIH Library Service: 
NIH Subject: