Pain and Palliative Care

This Guide provides access to biomedical, interdisciplinary, and clinical trial databases; drug and pharmaceutical resources; e-books; professional societies; and patient education resources of special interest to the NIH Pain and Palliative Care Consultation Service. 

 

Biomedical Databases

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is the leading resource for systematic reviews in healthcare. The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. 

EMBASE

EMBASE is a comprehensive database of biomedical literature. This database comprises over 32 million abstracts from published, peer reviewed biomedical literature, in-press publications, and conferences.

PubMed

PubMed is a comprehensive database of biomedical literature. This database comprises more than 28 million citations from published, peer reviewed biomedical literature and in-press publications including MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.  

UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence based, physician authored clinical decision support resource; the content includes 10,500 topic reviews within 24 subspecialty areas.

  

Interdisciplinary Databases

Scopus

Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature indexing scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. This database delivers a comprehensive overview of worldwide research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities and features smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.

Web of Science

Web of Science is a large abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature indexing scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. This database delivers a comprehensive overview of worldwide research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities and features smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.

 

Clinical Trial Databases

CenterWatch

CenterWatch is the largest online database of industry-sponsored global clinical trials actively seeking study volunteers.

ClinicalTrials.gov

Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical trials and observational studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions.

EU Clinical Trials Register

The European Union Clinical Trials Register provides access to protocol and results information on interventional clinical trials conducted in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA) as well as clinical trials conducted outside the EU / EEA that are linked to European pediatric medicine development. 

ISRCTN Registry

The ISRCTN Registry is a primary clinical trial registry recognized by WHO and ICMJE. This database accepts all clinical research studies including proposed, ongoing, and completed. The ISRCTN Registry also provides content validation and curation as well as the unique identification number necessary for publication.

OpenTrials

OpenTrials is a collaboration between Open Knowledge International and the University of OxfordEBM  DataLab. OpenTrials is a database containing all available information on every trial ever conducted.

 

Drug and Pharmaceutical Resources

Access Medicine Drug Monographs

DailyMed

Drug Information Portal

Drugs@FDA

NIH Clinical Center Formulary and Lexicomp Online

IBM Micromedex

UpToDate Drug Interactions

 

eBooks

Cancer Pain (2013)

Essentials of Pain Medicine (2018)

Essentials of Palliative Care (2013)

Evidence Based Practice of Palliative Medicine (2013)

Fundamentals of Pain Medicine (2018)

Handbook of Palliative Care (2012)

Hospital Based Palliative Medicine (2015)

Integrated Palliative Care of Respiratory Disease (2013)

Oxford American Handbook of Hospice and Palliative Medicine and Supportive Care (2016) 

Pain Management and Palliative Care (2015)

Palliative Care: Core Skills and Competencies (2011)

Palliative Care in Oncology (2015)

Palliative Care in Pediatric Oncology (2018)

Additional titles licensed by the NIH Library are available at AccessMedicine and Online Journals, Books and more

 

Professional Societies

American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine

Center to Advance Palliative Care

Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association

National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization

Society of Pain & Palliative Care Pharmacists

 

Patient Education Resources

Get Palliative Care : Handout for Patients and Families

MedlinePlus : Hospice Care

National Comprehensive Cancer Network : Patient and Caregiver Resources

National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization : End of Life Care Resources

 

See also Research Instruments

NIH Library Service: 
NIH Subject: 

Last modified date: Mon, 04/26/2021 - 2:45pm