Genetic & Molecular
HIV & Infectious Diseases
Non Federal Aggregation / Charting Sites
The largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984. From the CDC.
Maps, text, tables and figures showing the geographic patterns of cancer death rates throughout the United States from 1950 to 1994 for about 40 cancers. From the NCI.
Information from the National Cancer Institute on cancer statistics. Includes reports of cancer rates and trends, a statistics glossary, and data tools.
CDC site containing data on lung cancer, colorectal cancer, breast cancer, and prostate cancer; includes the estimated number of new cancer cases and cancer deaths, and the age-adjusted mortality rates for cancer deaths by race for each state; fact sheets were updated in June 2004.
Provides access to information on the occurrence of cancer world-wide held by the Descriptive Epidemiology Group of the International Agency for Research on Cancer, part of the World Health Organization (WHO). Non-Federal Web site.
Access to these statistical databases: SEER Incidence Statistics, US Mortality Statistics, SEER Survival Statistics, Cancer Prevalence Database, Probability of Developing or Dying from Cancer, and Delay-Adjusted SEER Incidence Rates. From NCI.
Search tool for SEER’s annual CSR report, published by the NCI
Cancer incidence and mortality.
Search database of Approved Cancer Programs, the National Cancer Data Base for Benchmark Reports, for Survival Reports. From the American College of Surgeons.
U.S. cancer statistics organized by site, race/ethnicity, sex, and age. Presented by the NCI
Heart disease and stroke statistics, offered in a variety of formats.
U.S. and state maps of CDC mortality data, provided by NHLBI. Data can be filtered by sex and race. Click within a state map to see more detail about the Health Service Area.
Find quick answers to demographic questions such as "What is the U.S. population?" "What is the poverty threshold?" "Which is America's largest minority group?" The site also has data sets, software, and reports on a wide variety of topics.
The CDC Diabetes Surveillance System collects, analyzes, and disseminates data on diabetes and its complications. Charts and tables can be generated for data such as prevalence, incidence, duration, complications, and more.
Statistics and resources on diabetes in America with a focus on American children, African Americans, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, Hispanics/Latinos, and the Pima Indians. From the NIDDK.
NIAAA data on alcohol consumption, dependence, economic data, risk behavior, and more.
Links to several NIDA reports and data on drug use.
Provides access to maps of environmental health information and data from the Hazardous Substances Emergency Events Surveillance (HSEES) system, which describes public health consequences associated with accidental releases of hazardous substances..
Includes data from more than 500 two-year, two species, toxicology and carcinogenesis studies collected by the NTP and its predecessor, the National Cancer Institute's Carcinogenesis Testing Program, stored in a database at NIEHS. Also contains results from toxicity studies from shorter duration tests and from genetic toxicity studies, which includes both in vitro and in vivo tests.
Genetic & Molecular
Contains the HuGE Published Literature Database, an online knowledge base of population-based, epidemiological studies of human genes published in journals included in PubMed; and the Genotype Prevalence Catalog, which includes population-based genotype frequency data that are stratified by geographic area, race, and/or gender.
Data regarding medical students, residents, schools, and teaching hospitals.
CDC surveillance data on nosocomial infections.
Statistics on various aspects of health care expenditures and hospital usage, from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
US Census Bureau data and reports regarding health insurance coverage.
HIV & Infectious Disease
ProMED-Mail serves as a central site for global news, updates, and discussions of outbreaks of emerging and re-emerging diseases that affect human health. It also links to outbreak maps. Operated by the International Society for Infectious Diseases. Non-federal site.
Includes AIDS Public Use Data, STD morbidity, and tuberculosis.
Provides access to static and interactive maps, reports, and charts on several diseases of international significance. From WHO.
A resource from the Center for Disease Contron (CDC) regarding usage of health services by people with HIV.
The UNAIDS/WHO Global HIV/AIDS Online Database collates the most recent country-specific data on the spread and impact of the virus, together with information on risk behaviors. Health sector response information is also an essential part of this database.
Data from EU member countries on core measures, such as population, birth rate, vaccinations, hospital beds, etc.
Created by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA), UNdata is a single entry point for statistical resources of the UN.
Core health statistics for the 193 WHO Member States.
Access to the World Bank Data Catalog, which contains over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources. Date is developed by the World Bank, Development Data Group, which coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases.
Prevalence data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) and the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS).
The Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS) provides guidance and technical assistance to decision makers at all levels of government on the design, structure, content, and use of mental health information systems, with the ultimate goal of improving the quality of mental health programs and services delivery. CMHS operates the only program in the Nation that focuses on the development of data standards that provide the basis for uniform, comparable, high-quality statistics on mental health services, making it a model in the health care statistics field.
The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States and includes several behavioral measures.
Provides links to several data and statistics sites related to mental health, including the Global Burden of Disease study.
Non Federal Aggregation / Charting Sites
Compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
Data from the US Census Bureau, the FBI, and the National Center for Educational Statistics.
PC-based system which provides users with an interactive method for assigning standardized industry and occupation codes to related job description titles from specific studies.
Includes data on births, causes of death, infant deaths, and reports from the CDC 122 Cities Mortality Reporting System (MMWR Mortality Table).
A list of links to data from several HHS agencies, including ACF, CMS, FDA, IHS, and others.
National Center for Health Statistics is the principal source of information on the health of the civilian non-institutionalized population of the United States and is one of the major data collection programs of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
An ongoing series of surveys, combining interviews and physical examinations, that are used to identify risk factors and develop national standards and public health policies.
Last modified date: Wed, 06/17/2020 - 12:53pm