Rehabilitation Medicine

This Guide provides access to biomedical, physical medicine and rehabilitation, and interdisciplinary databases; drug and pharmaceutical resources; e-books; web based rehabilitation and patient education resources; and professional societies of special interest to the NIH Rehabilitation Medicine Department. 

Biomedical Databases

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is the leading resource for systematic reviews in healthcare. The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. 

EMBASE

EMBASE is a comprehensive database of biomedical literature. This database comprises over 30 million abstracts from published, peer reviewed biomedical literature, in-press publications, and conferences.

Medscape

Medscape offers the latest medical news and expert perspectives; essential point-of-care drug and disease information; and relevant professional education and CME.

PubMed

PubMed is a comprehensive database of biomedical literature. This database comprises more than 26 million citations from published, peer reviewed biomedical literature and in-press publications including MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.  

UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence based, physician authored clinical decision support resource.  The content includes 10,500 topic reviews within 24 subspecialty areas.

 

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Databases

CINAHL Plus

CINAHL Plus (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. 

OTseeker

OTseeker (Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence) is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for validity and interpretability.

PEDro

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database) contains over 33,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. PEDro provides citation details, abstracts, and links to the full text where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the George Institute for Global Health.

PsycBITE

PsycBITE contains studies of cognitive, behavioral and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment. These studies are rated for methodological quality.

REHAB+

REHAB+ incorporates the McMasterPLUS email notifications system and searchable database of best evidence from healthcare literature of particular interest to rehabilitation professionals.

RT Wise Owls

Developed by the Department of Rehabilitation Sciences at Temple University, RT Wise Owls contains both published and unpublished evidence based research and resources relevant to the scope of recreational therapy practice. 

SpeechBITE

SpeechBITE indexes intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice. SpeechBITE includes systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, non-randomised controlled trials, case series, and single case designs.

 

Interdisciplinary Databases

Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature indexing scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. This database delivers a comprehensive overview of worldwide research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities; features smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.

Web of Science

Web of Science is an abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature indexing scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. This database delivers a comprehensive overview of worldwide research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities; features smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research; and includes Journal Citation Reports.

 

Drug and Pharmaceutical Resources

Access Medicine Drug Monographs 

DailyMed

Drug Information Portal

Drugs@FDA

NIH Clinical Center Formulary and Lexicomp Online

IBM Micromedex

UpToDate Drug Interactions

 

eBooks

Acute Care Handbook for Physical Therapists (2014)

Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation (2015)

Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment (2018)

Dysphagia Evaluation and Treatment (2018)

Handbook of Clinical Neurology, Traumatic Brain Injury, Part I (2015)

Handbook of Clinical Neurology, Traumatic Brain Injury, Part II (2015)

Harrison’s Manual of Medicine, 19e (2016)

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20e (2018)

International Handbook of Occupational Therapy Interventions (2015)

MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology, 3e (2016)

Movement Disorders Rehabilitation (2017)

Neuropsychology for Occupational Therapists: Cognition in Occupational Performance (2017)

New Therapeutics for Traumatic Brain Injury (2017)

Occupational Therapy and Neurological Conditions (2016)

Occupational Therapy Evidence in Practice for Mental Health (2017)

Precision Medicine: A Guide to Genomics in Clinical Practice (2017)

Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, 2e (2017)

Rehab Clinical Pocket Guide: Rehabilitation Medicine (2013)

Rehabilitation After Traumatic Brain Injury (2018)

Rehabilitation Outcome Measures (2010)

Telerehabilitation (2013)

Traumatic Brain Injury (2015)

Additional titles licensed by the NIH Library are available at AccessMedicine and Online Journals, Books and more

 

Web based Resources

Center for Outcome Measurement in Brain Injury

Evidence Based Clinical Practice Rehabilitation Guidelines

EBP Resources Relevant to Speech Pathology and Healthcare

National Rehabilitation Information Center

OTseeker Evidence Based Occupational Therapy Resources

OTseeker Evidence Based Practice Resources

 

Patient Education Resources

HealthReach: Health Information in Many Languages

MedlinePlus

IBM Micromedex CareNotes

Multicultural Resources for Health Information

Research Patient Education Resources (RPEC)

Resources in Multiple Languages from Other Federal Agencies

UpToDate Patient Education

 

Professional Societies

American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

American Occupational Therapy Association

American Physical Therapy Association

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

American Therapeutic Recreation Association

International Society of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine

 

See also Research Instruments

 

NIH Library Service: 

Last modified date: Fri, 08/27/2021 - 4:48pm